Bilgola SLSC Presentation Night Award Winners

The 2015 Presentation evening was a great success.  Patron, John Brogden was gracious and funny handing out awards, but really stopped everyone in their tracks when he spoke on behalf of Craig Poppleton, in thanking the club community for supporting him following his accident on patrol early in the season. Ben Gill was surprised and thrilled at being recognised  as Club Person of the Year – The Bob de Groot Award, Romilly acknowledged his incredible dress sense of shorts and thongs.  Greg Franks, was also thrilled at being awarded Life Saver of the year.  Patrol 9 were recognised as joint winners of Patrol of the year for their sterling rescue of Craig Poppleton and for patrolling full days to support other patrols.  Patrol 14 were the other joint winners in recognition of their professionalism under pressure during the Ocean Swim.  The best dressed with the theme of beach cocktail would have to go to Rowan Jacobs, wearing Hawaiian shorts with a black tie suit jacket and shirt followed by the Rowing Masters lads in their jackets and Hawaiian shirts.  Belle Poelmann was rewarded with the biggest and loudest cheer of the evening when presented with the Patrol Captain of the year award, she was then given three cheers by the new Bronzies.  John Morley, who hates public speaking apparently, gave the most gorgeous and articulate speech on winning the Saxon Glover award.  Finally thank you to Kylie Ockwell and Belle Poelmann for organising and coordinating such a fun evening.

Congratulations to the following award recipients;

The Bob de Groot Award – Club Person of the Year - Ben Gill
Lifesaver of the Year Award - Greg Franks
IRB Person of the Year - Ben Gill
Saxon Glover Award - John Morley
Patrol Captain of the Year - Isabelle Poelmann
Kevin Berry Award - Nigel Penn, Norm Pounder, Isabelle Poelmann, Louise Edgley
Top Ten Patrollers - Richard Hardwick, Joshua Fenley, Greg Franks, Isabelle Poelmann, Romilly Madew, Peter Tomkins, Richard Pettit, David Gillard, Ben Gill, Levi Broughton-Rouse

Patrol of the Year - Patrol 9 & Patrol 14!
Rower of the Year - Norm Pounder
Junior Rower of the Year - Molly Simpson
Female Rower of the Year - Claire Cupitt
Surf Boat Crew of the Year – A Crew - Don McManus, Anthony O’Toole, Mitch Foran, Brendan Murray, Jarad King
Nipper Age Managers of the Year - Bianca Norris, John Morley, David Poole
Club Championships
Club Champion - Michael Fell
Female Club Champion - Annabelle Rogers, Rebecca Rogers
Bilgola Bolt - Michael Fell