Bilgola Triumph at Australian Surf Rowers League

Bilgola surf boat rowers created history over the weekend at the ASRL Open at Shellharbour by winning both the inaugural u19 women’s and women’s reserve grade titles.

The is the first time these 2 events have been held at such a major national carnival.

image1 (6)

The Sweetcheeks u23 women (Alicia Jackson, Ella smith, Caitlin Lowe, Tiani Schaeffer, swept by¬† the legend Don McManus) were victorious in all their races across the weekend and chased down a great wave in their final to snatch victory in a very competitive race. This was only the second carnival for this particular crew after reaching the final in u23 women at last weeks branch championships. The crew’s interview after the race will likely go down in Bilgola folklore for sheet excitement and colorful adjectives!!

The Benny’s women’s crew (Elizabeth Green, Stephanie Hill, Kelly Trim, Jess Layton, swept by Ben Gill) were the winners of the women’s reserve grade title at the open. This is a new crew this season with the ladies having joined the club from elsewhere and it wonderful to have them as an integral part of our group. The crew has been training hard and the great results are starting to reflect their dedication.

image2 (3)

Congratulations to both crews on creating history.


Norm Pounder

Boat Captain