Outstanding Awards at SNB AoE evening

Bilgola acknowledged at Sydney Northern Beaches SLS Awards of Excellence evening

Dennis O’Toole, Bilgola SLSC Life Member (2001) was awarded Life Membership of Sydney Northern Beaches SLS at their Awards of Excellence (AoE) evening last Friday night.

Dennis obtained his Bronze Medallion in 1966, joining Bilgola SLSC in 1978.  He has held numerous committee positions both for Bilgola (2003 – 2017) and Branch including Vice President Bilgola SLSC (1995 – 1997) and President Bilgola SLSC (1998 – 2002).  Level One Official at Sydney Northern Beaches Branch (2008 – 2018) and in 2010 was awarded Distinguished Service Member of Sydney Northern Beaches Branch.  He has attended all surfboat carnivals in the capacity of ‘starter’, including local, Intrastate, Interstate and Australian Surf Life Saving Championships (2008 – 2018).  Currently a regular ‘surfboat starter’ of finals at Branch, State and Australian Championships. A member of the Sydney Northern Beaches Branch Surfboat Officials group, who are recognised as the most competent set of surfboat officials in Australia.

Karen “Kaz” Marks Not one but two awards for Kaz Marks at the SNB AoE. Kaz, a member of both Bilgola SLSC and Narrabeen Beach SLSC, was first on stage at Dee Why RSL last Friday night as part of that very valuable TIPS team, who received the Services Award. ”While I was absolutely surprised, it was nice to see TIPS recognized for the work that they do,” said Kaz. Kaz has been officiating for quite sometime in First Aid, Championship Lifesaver, surfboats but is focusing now on IRB’s.  In fact, she’s the first female IRB referee with SLS NSW.  Kaz has been a Branch Volunteer of the Year award winner, but this is the first time as Official of the Year.  ”When I looked at the other finalists I couldn’t believe I’d won it,” she said.

Patrol 14 was awarded the inaugural Patrol of the year.  Patrol 14 was formed at Bilgola Beach in 2014 under Patrol Captain (and President) Romilly Madew and has grown to being 23 members, including mothers and sons, fathers and daughters, newly awarded Bronze Medal holders and SRC graduates. The aim of the patrol has always been to work with the public to keep beachgoers safe.  The patrol leadership has always stressed the visibility that patrollers have when they put on the uniform – they are in the public eye and must act accordingly. Patrol 14 includes the Madew Family (Romilly, David, David Junior, Arielle and Nathaniel), Dahdah family (Brandon, Nathan and Jayden), Rowan and Liberty Jacobs, Daryl and Andrew Moore, Keira Paine, Caitlyn Lowe, Alex Fan, Ruby Lemon, Dawn Michel, Laura Papworth, Ruby Brook, Georgia Ryan, Oliver Liell, Olivia Cowper and Harry Kountouris.


Romilly Madew